Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

, a 2012 UW CSE Ph.D. alumna who is now a Researcher in the at Microsoft Research, has received the University of Washington Graduate School’s 2013 Distinguished Dissertation Award.

2016 Winner Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

Creator of advanced data processing architecture wins 2014 doctoral dissertation award

Click to learn how to apply for the 2017 Dissertation Award.

Assistant Professor Emily Putnam-Hornstein has received the 2012 Society for Social Work and Research Outstanding Social Work Doctoral Dissertation Award for her dissertation, "Do ‘Accidents’ Happen? An Examination of Injury Mortality Among Maltreated Children.”

Committee Members for the George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Award:

The Immigration and Ethnic History Society announces competition for the 2016 George E. Pozzetta Dissertation Award. It invites applications from any PhD candidate who will have completed qualifying exams by December 15, 2016, and whose thesis focuses on American immigration, emigration, or ethnic history. The award provides two grants of $1000 each for expenses to be incurred in researching the dissertation. Applicants must submit a three-page to five-page descriptive proposal in English discussing the significance of the work, the methodology, sources, and collections to be consulted. Also included must be a proposed budget, a brief curriculum vitae, and a supporting letter from the major advisor. To be considered for the award, all applicants must submit their materials via email to all committee members by December 15, 2016.

Creator of advanced data processing architecture wins 2014 doctoral dissertation award
The Council for Research in Music Education is seeking nominations for the 2015 Outstanding Dissertation Award (ODA), which recognizes excellence in research by doctoral students. By volunteering as a reviewer for the Outstanding Dissertation Award, you agree to read a ten-page extended summary of the dissertation and a sample chapter, and to complete an online evaluation form. You will have four weeks to complete the review once you receive the materials. Plan on receiving these materials by mid-August and to complete the evaluation by September 30.The Council is also seeking reviewers for the Outstanding Dissertation Award. Eligible individuals are music education faculty members who are currently supervising graduate research, or have done so in the past. We especially invite retired or emeritus professors to serve as reviewers. If you are willing to serve as a reviewer, complete an application found below by July 1, 2016.During a ceremony at the Survey Research Laboratory on the Urbana campus on July 14, 2016, four doctoral students were honored for the quality of their work utilizing survey research methodology. The two winners of the 2016 Robert Ferber and Seymour Sudman Dissertation Awards received $2000 awards and plaques commemorating their achievement. Two other students each received an honorable mention certificate and $200. Drs. Ferber and Sudman, in whose memory the awards were established, were eminent scholars at the University of Illinois in the field of survey research.
Questions about the Doctoral Dissertation Award should be addressed to the chairs listed above.

Call for Nominations ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award

Every week, AHA Today showcases a new grant, fellowship, or scholarship of interest to historians which has been posted to our . This week we are featuring a dissertation award from the Immigration and Ethnic History Society.


Dissertation ASA Award | American Sociological Association

Jonghye Woo won the best dissertation award in the experimental research category for his thesis entitled: “Variational Techniques for Cardiac Image Analysis: Algorithms and Applications.” His research supervisor was Prof. Jay Kuo.

Please return completed evaluation form to Chair, ProQuest Doctoral Dissertation Award Jury.

Call for AAAL Dissertation Award Nominees

Honorable Mention for the 2015 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award went to Aaron Sidford of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Siavash Mirarab of the University of Texas at Austin. They will share a $10,000 prize, with financial sponsorship provided by Google Inc.